Health · Slimming World

Starting my Slimming World Journey

If you read my last blog post where I mentioned about having new ideas for  my blog, this is one of those ideas. I have re started slimming World and I thought I would share with you all my weight loss journey this time around. After seeing a rather horrible photo of myself (which has since been enlarged and plastered to my  fridge door!) I made the decision that I was fed up about complaining about it, simple as I have to do something about it. No one else can do anything about it, only me.

I have done Slimming World before after my youngest little boy was born and i managed to lose over 1 and a half stone, I managed to keep that weight off but i always knew i had more to lose, so that time is now. I’ve been extremely naughty over Christmas this year and I’ve practically eaten my way through this weekend alone, all that is about to change.

I weighed myself last Saturday and my starting weight is 12 stone 5 three-quarter pounds, as I’m 5 foot 8 my goal weight is between 9 and a half to ten stone. I’m aiming for the ten stone mark which gives me 2 stone 5 lbs to lose or 33lbs total.

Why I have chosen Slimming world is that it is more of a lifestyle change than a diet and I’m not restricted from eating anything. I plan to follow the Extra Easy plan as i don’t think i would be able to do it if i couldn’t have carbs like my potatoes and pasta. Everything in moderation and nothing is off-limits, even chocolate!

I’m planning to experiment more with the huge amount of Slimming world recipes that are out there, especially including more herbs and spices in my diet. I especially love Slimming World for this reason, all the family eat and enjoy the meals and I’m not having to make a separate dinner for myself or count any calories as I go. Who has time for that, i certainly don’t.

I’m not a group member yet, and I’m not sure if i will re join a group or go it alone at home. Since i live in quite a rural area I don’t have a class near me and i don’t really have bags of time to spare to travel miles and miles to one. I’ll wait and see how i go.

My main reasons for wanting to lose weight apart from THAT photo I mentioned above is that none of my clothes fit me like they once did. With every baby i have had I’ve put on that little bit of weight that i never bothered to lose and now every little bit of that weight has turned into quite a lot of weight. I’ve no one to blame only myself! I want to be able to walk into a shop, see something i like and know when i try it on I’m  going to look good.

I carry the excess weight mainly on my stomach area, which I’ve been told is not good for my heart, another incentive to lose it. It would be a cop-out to just blame the pregnancies, my diet is not the best and that’s the main reason. I have a BMI of 26.4 which is classed as over weight.

My hair, skin and nails have also taken a rap lately again down to the fact that I have literally no calcium or water intake in my  diet at all. I drink mainly fizzy cola (yes i know how awful it is for you) and although i do eat loads of vegetables, i do not eat any dairy. It’s really starting to take its toll on how i look and how i feel about myself. I’ve been unhappy with my weight and the way i look for a long time now so instead of just complaining and whining about it, it’s time to make a change.

No more junk food, fizzy drinks and taking the easy option. Time to get off my lazy arse and do a bit more excercise, i do suffer with back problems so there won’t be anything too strenuous, i do not want to make that problem worse. one step at a time, first to get the healthy eating started.

My plan is to post updates either every second week or every month, I don’t want to bore any of you with weight loss spam if that’s not what you’re into. I will  however be posting a lot more regularly over on my Instagram pageso make sure to pop over to say hi and have a browse. My weigh in day will be every Saturday morning at 9:30am and I will be sharing  the weekly results whether good or bad (but hopefully good!) over on Instagram too.

Thanks for reading, wish me luck and I’ll speak to you all in my next update

 

 

One thought on “Starting my Slimming World Journey

Leave a Reply

